Welcome

Photos of Larryblakeley
http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/larryblakeley_photos_jpeg.htm

(Contact Info: larry at larryblakeley dot com)

Important Note: You will need to click this icon to download the free needed to view most of the images on this Web site - just a couple of clicks and you're "good to go."

I manage this Web site and the following Web sites: Leslie (Blakeley) Adkins - my oldest daughter

Lori Ann Blakeley (June 20, 1985 - May 4, 2005) - my middle daughter

Evan Blakeley- my youngest child

Added the following to Web page http://www.larryblakeley.com/academic_research_search/academic_and_research_search.htm

University of South Carolina Professor Robert Williams http://www.larryblakeley.com/experts/robert_williams/robert_williams.htm, Professor in the Library and Information Science Department, University of South Carolina and his students have accumulated an extensive listing of information resources.

Post Date: March 27, 2005 at 1:20 PM CST; 1920 GMT

******************************************************************

Added (or rather amended) the following to the home page http://www.larryblakeley.com/index.htm

Here is an image copy of my "top-level" folders for this Web site http://www.larryblakeley.com/folders_larry_blakeley_com20050325.png

Post Date: March 25, 2005 at 3:55 PM CST; 2155 GMT

******************************************************************

Added (or rather amended) the following to the home page http://www.larryblakeley.com/index.htm

A synopsis for my vision of a "start up" document, information, and knowledge management company will originate from this Web page http://www.larryblakeley.com/products/products_overview.htm

Post Date: March 23, 2005 at 6:35 AM CST; 1235 GMT

******************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.larryblakeley.com/academic_research_search/academic_and_research_search.htm

ISIHighlyCited.com http://www.isihighlycited.com/ This freely accessible Web site gives research professionals working in a variety of occupations an invaluable tool to identify individuals, departments and laboratories that have made fundamental contributions to the advancement of science and technology in recent decades.

Post Date: March 23, 2005 at 6:20 AM CST; 1220 GMT

******************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/clusters_grids/clusters_grids.htm

This paper - the first in a two-part series - discusses the various considerations that go into planning a high performance computing cluster. Among the questions to ask yourself:

What applications will run on your cluster? The answer will help determine whether you deploy 64-bit Intel® Itanium® 2 processors, 32-bit Intel® Xeon™ processors or Intel® Xeon™ processors MP.

Are your applications fine-grained or coarse-grained? Granularity refers to the ratio of compute time to communication time and can determine what networking technology your cluster requires.

How many nodes do you require? The number of simultaneous users and the size of the projects will help determine the number of nodes. It's also important to understand how many processes your applications can run in parallel.

These questions and several others — including what industry standards, operating system, and software tools you require — are addressed in depth.

- "Building High-Performance Computing Clusters with Intel Architecture Part 1: Planning HPC Clusters"

File URL here (HTML) http://www.intel.com/business/bss/swapps/hpc/clusters1.htm

Post Date: March 21, 2005 at 10:15 PM; March 22, 2005 at 0415 GMT

******************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/clusters_grids/clusters_grids.htm

This paper - the second in a two-part series - describes the process of deploying a cluster based on Intel® processor-based systems. Cluster software, such as SCYLD* and OSCAR* for the Linux* operating system, and Microsoft's Computational Cluster Technical Preview Kit (CCTP)* for Windows 2000 Advanced Server* and Windows XP*, makes building a cluster fast and easy.

This paper describes how to build a Linux-based cluster from scratch and then delves into the components of SCYLD and OSCAR that make them powerful HPC clustering tools.

- "Building High-performance Computing Clusters with Intel Architecture Part 2: Planning HPC Clusters"

File URL here (HTML) http://www.intel.com/business/bss/swapps/hpc/clusters2.htm

Post Date: March 21, 2005 at 10:15 PM; March 22, 2005 at 0415 GMT

******************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/clusters_grids/clusters_grids.htm

This paper looks at the value of enterprise application clusters in the application and database tiers and lists considerations for a cluster solution. Clusters are also applied to high-performance computing (HPC) to address solving very large problems using parallel computing.

- "Intel® XeonTM Processor MP Enabling Enterprise Application Clusters for High Availability and Performance"

File URL here (PDF) http://cache-www.intel.com/cd/00/00/10/29/102949_wp023301_sum.pdf

Post Date: March 21, 2005 at 10:15 PM; March 22, 2005 at 0415 GMT

******************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/semantic_web/semantic_web.htm

- "The CIO's Guide to Semantics," Dave McComb, Semantic Arts, Inc. http://www.semanticarts.com, 2004 http://www.semanticarts.com/DesktopModules/ViewArticle.aspx?ArticleID=935&mid=3475

Abstract here http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/semantic_web/dave_mccomb_cio_guide2004_abstract.htm

File URL here http://www.semanticarts.com/DesktopModules/ViewArticle.aspx?ArticleID=935&mid=3475

Post Date: March 21, 2005 at 10:50 AM CST; 1650 GMT

******************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.larryblakeley.com/Imaging/CEIS.htm

- "The Center for Electronic Imaging Systems: Imaging in the Information Age," Nicholas George and Carol Neufeld George, University of Rochester - an article describing the fundamental principles upon which the CEIS was founded, the management structure of the Center, new approaches to engineering education within the Center, and the emphasis on research and technology transfer. (PDF version here http://www.larryblakeley.com/Imaging/nicholas_george_carol_george.pdf)

Post Date: March 20, 2005 at 6:10 PM CST; March 21, 2005 at 0010 GMT

******************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.larryblakeley.com/products/hosting_software.htm

Management - Unstructured Data

80-20 Software http://www.larryblakeley.com/products/hosting_software/80-20_software.htm

Post Date: March 20, 2005 at 1:25 PM CST; 1925 GMT

******************************************************************

Added the following to the Web page http://www.larryblakeley.com/index.htm

John T. Roberts, Registered Architect - his Web site cover the architecture of downtown Dallas here http://www.dallasarchitecture.info/dallas.htm (and downtown Fort Worth here http://www.fortwortharchitecture.com/arch.htm)

Post Date: March 20, 2005 at 1:20 PM CST; 1920 GMT

******************************************************************

Added the following to Web page http://www.larryblakeley.com/products/hosting_software.htm

Web site Hosting, Traffic Management, Clustering and Application serving

For Zeus Web Server:
http://www.zeus.com/products/zws/

For ZXTM Load Balancer:
http://www.zeus.com/products/zlb/

For Zeus Extensible Traffic Manager:
http://www.zeus.com/products/zxtm/

- inspect, manipulate and act upon the information flowing through it in both directions

For Zeus solutions:
http://www.zeus.com/solutions/

Post Date: March 11, 2005 at 5:10 AM CST; 1110 GMT

******************************************************************

Added the following to the Web page http://www.larryblakeley.com/digital_preservation/preservation_abstracts.htm

Note: For additional information go to this Web page http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/storage_archives_preservation/storage_archives_preservation.htm

Post Date: March 10, 2005 at 7:20 AM CST; 1320 GMT

******************************************************************

Added the following to the Web page http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/storage_archives_preservation/storage_archives_preservation.htm

Note: For additional information go to this Web page http://www.larryblakeley.com/digital_preservation/preservation_abstracts.htm

Post Date: March 10, 2005 at 7:20 AM CST; 1320 GMT

******************************************************************

Added the following to the Web page http://www.larryblakeley.com/index.htm

A synopsis for my vision of a "start up" document, information, and knowledge management company will be posted on this Web page http://www.larryblakeley.com/products/vision_startup.htm

Post Date: March 10, 2005 at 7:00 AM CST; 1300 GMT

******************************************************************

Added the following Web page http://www.larryblakeley.com/products/vision_startup.htm

For information about application services go here http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/application_services/application_services.htm

Post Date: March 9, 2005 at 7:20 AM CST; 1320 GMT

******************************************************************

Added the following Web page http://www.larryblakeley.com/products/vision_startup.htm - a synopsis of my vision of a "start up" document, information, and knowledge management company.

Post Date: March 9, 2005 at 6:10 AM CST; 1210 GMT