- "Building an Electronic Records Archive at the National Archives and Records Administration: Recommendations for a Long-Term Strategy,"Computer Science and Telecommunications Board (CSTB) http://www7.nationalacademies.org/cstb/, 2005 http://www.nap.edu/books/0309096960/html/

Directory: http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/storage_archives_preservation/

Abstract: http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/storage_archives_preservation/CSTB_electronic_archive_report2005_abstract.htm

Report URL: http://www.nap.edu/books/0309096960/html

Post Date: July 5, 2005 at 9:15 CDT; 1345 GMT

******************************************************************

- "It's About Time: Research Challenges in Digital Archiving and Long-Term Preservation," Final Report of the Workshop on Research Challenges in Digital Archiving: Towards a National Infrastructure for Long-Term Preservation of Digital Information, April 12-13, 2002 http://www.si.umich.edu/digarch/, August 2003.

Directory: http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/storage_archives_preservation/

Abstract: http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/storage_archives_preservation/national_infrastructure_workshop_report200308_abstract.htm

File URL (PDF) here http://www.si.umich.edu/digarch/NSF%200915031.pdf

Post Date: May 10, 2005 at 7:15 AM CDT; 1215 GMT

******************************************************************

- "Building an Electronic Records Archive at the National Archives and Records Administration: Recommendations for Initial Development," Committee on Digital Archiving and the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), Robert F. Sproull and Jon Eisenberg, Editors, National Research Council http://www.larryblakeley.com/web_knowledge_providers/national_research_council.htm of the National Academies http://www.larryblakeley.com/web_knowledge_providers/national_academy_of_sciences.htm, National Academies Press http://www.nap.edu/

Abstract: http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/storage_archives_preservation/initial_recommendations_ERA_abstract.htm

File URL here (HTML) http://www.nap.edu/catalog/10707.html

Post Date: March 27, 2005 at 8:50 AM CST; 1450 GMT

******************************************************************

For a few experts in this area go here. http://www.larryblakeley.com/experts/experts_info_retrieval_preservation.htm

Post Date: March 25, 2005 at 5:58 PM CST; 2358 GMT

******************************************************************

- "Archiving in the Digital Age: Is Hollywood Still For Reel?," John Courtmanche, Media Line News http://medialinenews.com/, April 14, 2003 http://www.medialinenews.com/issues/2003/april/cover.shtml

Directory: http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/storage_archives_preservation/

File Name: john_courtmanche20030414.htm

Post Date: March 25, 2005 at 12:15 PM CST; 1815 GMT

******************************************************************

Links to various resources - a description about this Web site below:

Electronic Recordkeeping Resources http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/storage_archives_preservation/recordkeeping_resources_cal_lee.htm

Post Date: March 25, 2005 at 12:00 PM CST; 1800 GMT

******************************************************************

Digital technology opens archival materials to worldwide access, but it may not stand the test of time. Issues of life expectancy, authenticity, initial cost, and ongoing cost remain unsolved for digitized documents. Archives are responsible for long-term collections care, so must choose preservation strategies wisely. For most repositories, including the Hoover Institution Archives, microfilm is still the best medium for long term preservation.

- "Microfilm Preservation in a Digital World," http://www.hoover.org/hila/preservation.htm

Post Date: March 25, 2005 at 12:00 PM CST; 1800 GMT

******************************************************************

A wealth of preservation and archiving information available at the following federal Web pages:

The Library of Congress, Librarians and Archivists http://www.loc.gov/library/librarians.html

National Archives and Records Administration's (NARA) http://www.larryblakeley.com/national_archives_and_records.htm Electronic Records Arcives (ERA) initiative http://www.archives.gov/electronic_records_archives/

- "The National Digital Information Infrastructure and Preservation Program (NDIIPP)," A Collaborative Initiative of the Library of Congress,

File URL here (HTML) http://www.digitalpreservation.gov/index.php

Post Date: March 24, 2005 at 10:20 PM CST; March 25, 2005 at 0420 GMT

******************************************************************

Preservation encompasses the activities which prolong the usable life of archival records. Preservation activities are designed to minimize the physical and chemical deterioration of records and to prevent the loss of informational content. These activities include providing a stable environment for records of all media types, using safe handling and storage methods, duplicating unstable materials (e.g. nitrate film, thermofax) to a stable media, copying potentially fragile materials into a usable format (e.g. microfilming or digitization), storing records in housings made from stable materials (for example, document boxes made from "acid-free" paperboard), repairing documents to maintain their original format, establishing a pest control program and instituting a disaster recovery plan which includes plans for emergency preparedness and response.

- "What is Preservation," U.S. National Archives and Records Administraction (NARA) http://www.archives.gov/, Preservation Division http://www.archives.gov/preservation/index.html, http://www.archives.gov/preservation/index.html

Post Date: March 24, 2005 at 12:22 AM CST; 0622 GMT

******************************************************************

Note: For additional information go to this Web page http://www.larryblakeley.com/digital_preservation/preservation_abstracts.htm

******************************************************************

- "The International Research on Permanent Authentic Records in Electronic Systems http://www.interpares.org/ (InterPARES) 2 Project: Experiential, Interactive, Dynamic Records," School of Library, Archival and Information Studies http://www.slais.ubc.ca/ at the University of British Columbia, in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. The InterPARES Project Director is Dr. Luciana Duranti http://www.slais.ubc.ca/PEOPLE/faculty/faculty-bio/duranti-bio.htm.

Abstract: http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/storage_archives_preservation/interpares2_abstract.htm

Home Page URL here http://www.interpares.org/ip2/ip2_index.cfm

Post Date: March 24, 2005 at 8:30 AM CST; 1430 GMT

******************************************************************

- "Electronic Media and Preservation," Fynnette Eaton, Chief, Technical Services, Center for Electronic Records http://www.archives.gov/research_room/center_for_electronic_records/center_for_electronic_records.html, U.S. National Archives and Records Administration , International Association of Social Science Information Service and Technology http://www.iassistdata.org/index.html, IASSIST QUARTERLY http://www.iassistdata.org/publications/iq/index.html (IQ), Volume 18, Spring/Summer 1994 http://www.iassistdata.org/publications/iq/iqvol18.html, pages 14 - 17.

Abstract: http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/storage_archives_preservation/fynnette_eaton1993_abstract.htm

File URL here (PDF) http://iassistdata.org/publications/iq/iq18/iqvol181-2eaton.pdf

Post Date: March 24, 2005 at 8:05 AM CST; 1345 GMT

******************************************************************

- "Preservation in the Digital World," Paul Conway, Head, Preservation Department, Yale University Library,
March 1996

Abstract: http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/storage_archives_preservation/paul_conway_preservation_abstract.htm

File URL here (HTML) http://www.clir.org/pubs/reports/conway2/index.html

Post Date: March 24, 2005 at 12:01 AM CST; 0601 GMT

******************************************************************

- "Reference Model for an Open Archival Information System (OAIS): Recommendation for Space Data System Standards," Consultative Committee for Space Data Systems, CCSDS 650.0-B-1 Blue Book, January 2002

Directory: http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/storage_archives_preservation/

Abstract: http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/storage_archives_preservation/650x0b1_abstract.htm

File Name: 650x0b1.pdf

Post Date: March 20, 2005 at 7:55 AM CST; 1355 GMT

******************************************************************

- "Attributes of File Formats for Long-Term Preservation of Scientific and Engineering Data in Digital Libraries," Mike Folk and Bruce R. Barkstrom, May 2003. http://www.ncsa.uiuc.edu/NARA/Sci_Formats_and_Archiving.doc

Directory: http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/storage_archives_preservation/

Abstract: http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/storage_archives_preservation/mike_folk_bruce_barkstrom200305_abstract.htm

File Name: mike_folk_bruce_barkstrom200305.pdf

Post Date: March 20, 2005 at 7:30 AM CST; 1330 GMT

******************************************************************

- "Preserving Digital Information: Report of the Task Force on Archiving of Digital Information," The Commission on Preservation and Access and The Research Libraries Group, May 1, 1996

Directory: http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/storage_archives_preservation/

Abstract: http://www.larryblakeley.com/Articles/storage_archives_preservation/archive_digital_information_report19960501_abstract.htm

File Name: archive_digital_information_report19960501.pdf

Post Date: March 10, 2005 at 6:00 AM CST; 1200 GMT